The Daisy and the Bear: Chapter 29 – Four letters to George

Posted: September 19, 2010 in The Daisy and the Bear

To my most well beloved son George Duke of Clarence

I greet you well and recommend me to you and to your wife my daughter Isobel Duchess of Clarence.

Now that that’s out of the way – Can I just ask what on earth you think you’re doing? I understand that you sometimes get upset by the things your brother does or doesn’t do, but that’s really no excuse for what must be, even for you, a record breaking sulk! I think it’s time you came home, apologised to each other and shook hands! This nonsense has simply got to stop.

I’m not even going to mention the horrible lies you’ve been spreading about me!

written in haste the day after Whitsun

your loving mother

Cecily Duchess of York

__________

George

What’s going on? We’ve always been able to talk and I’m feeling very shut out at the moment. You can always tell me things, you know that! Look, I know Ned can be difficult at times, but you have to remember – he’s the king! Things can’t be that bad, surely! And you need to think very carefully about trusting Warwick. He doesn’t always mean what he says or say what he means. I’m sure Isobel’s an absolute sweetie-pie, clearly she adores you! but you might want to ask yourself: was it all worth it? Ned’s just sick about the whole thing. Richard or Dickon is getting more frail and angelic® by the day, and you know stress isn’t good for him! All I want is for my brothers to get along! Please please please think about what you’re doing. If you want me to talk to Ned for you, I’m happy to do that. You know I’m always delighted when they come for a visit, but I’m finding it all just a bit hard to deal with right now. I’m fielding complaints from just about everyone at the moment.  You know I love Ned dearly, but the working girls are exhausted! They’re just not used to such exuberance. Have a think about it.  Ask yourself – do you really want to be king? The job does have its downsides – just ask Ned, he’ll tell you! Drop me a line – please! – let me know how you’re getting on. I worry about you so much. Mother’s very hurt by the things you said about her. You might want to look in a mirror some time soon and tell me how much YOU look like Father!

Please write back and let me know you’re ok. I’m not sleeping properly with all this worry!

Your adoring big sis

Meg

________________________

Dear George

Have you seen my rat bastard ex-husband swanning around London? Well, next time you do, just look into his ugly face and ask yourself: do I really want to spend the rest of my life knowing that while this pig’s hanging around court, my big sister’s going to be stuck in the country! Oh, and if you get the chance, can you drop around my place and make sure he’s not doing anything too irreversible to the decor? Cost me a fortune to have it done up! His fortune – ha ha!

My love to Isobel and cousin Richard. Oh, and Thomas says tell my ex he’d better not show his face around here or he’ll sort him out!

All my love

Anne Duchess of Exeter (you’d better believe it, baby!)

______________________

Darling George

Whatever it is you’re doing that’s upsetting mother, please stop.

Can’t write more, far too busy, what with my darling boys and the roses to prune.

Your loving sister

Bess.

Comments
  1. Love ’em, especially Anne’s!

  2. Anerje says:

    Since you changed forums, it’s been difficult for me to post here. But I love this part of your blog! It’s just brilliant!

Leave a Reply

