The White Queen, episode 2

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Trivialities, rants & other ephemera, Uncategorised

Elizabeth: Edward, Warwick hates you!
Edward: No, he loves me.
Warwick: No, she’s right. I hate you now.
Isobel: Anne! I’ve just found out I’m a pawn!
Henry VI: I could be wrong, but I think I might be Jesus.
Elizabeth:  I’ve just been told my father’s dead.
Audience: So have we.
Margaret Beaufort: My son will be king!
Gloucester: Hang on, I’m pretty sure I just foreshadowed that I’ll be king.
Elizabeth: I’m going to put a curse on a bunch of people.
Audience. Knock yourself out. I think we’ve lost interest.

Comments
  1. Michele Bennett says:

    Surely a better dialogue and a greater degree of sophistication could have been devised for a public who have taken to their hearts the multiple characters and threads, and the complex plots of “Game of Thrones”, which was supposedly written with the Wars of the Roses in mind. Spartacus also managed to run successfully with a dialogue adjusted to sound reminiscent of the language of the period in which the drama was set, and didn’t need constantly to pointedly remind the audience of who each character was as if the viewers are simple-minded.

  2. anevillfeast says:

    Hi Michele. I don’t mind the ‘modern’ feel to the dialogue so much. After all, those who were alive and speaking at the time were using the most modern version of the language. I wholeheartedly agree re the simplification of events, though. That’s PG’s chosen writing style. I firmly believe the viewing public is intelligent enough for something better than this.

  3. After watching episode 2, I keep getting mental flashes of Isabel Neville enacting your synopsis with her shadow figures. And to think how much money could have been saved if they’d kept things simple!

  4. Celia Parker says:

    Thanks for this, means I don’t have to waste time watching it!

  5. tudorqueen6 says:

    Poor Warwick is getting a bad rep through this show. I can’t tell you how many posts I’ve seen about how bad he is and how he’s using his girls. Should I even get in to Lady Cecily? They are calling her the “mother-in-law from hell” which if I’m not mistaken was David Starkey’s nickname for Lady Margaret Beaufort, mother of Henry Tudor. This disrespect towards the Nevill (or Neville) family is ridiculous and all I can do is laugh. And what is this crap about “Edward’s mother must know loss…” Are you kidding me? Lady Cecily grew up knowing loss. Her husband, son, and brother were executed, she had about 13 children, only 7 to survive and fight amongst themselves, etc.

  6. tudorqueen6 says:

    It’s up and going. ::bangs head on keyboard:: All thanks to Philippa Gregory.

Leave a Reply

